As discussed in a previous blog post, the Blue Cross Blue Shield Association licenses its brands to its 38 member independently owned companies, which generally possess exclusive rights to the Blue Cross and Blue Shield names in defined territories. By definition, that means that the companies do not compete with one another; for example, Blue Cross of Michigan doesn’t sell policies in Ohio or Illinois, and Blue Cross of Ohio and Illinois don’t sell policies in Michigan.

One of the largest cases ever filed is currently pending in Alabama against the Blue Cross Blue Shield Association and its 38 member licensees, alleging that the absence of competition and their 30-year monopoly has resulted in everyone paying more for health insurance.

To stop these unfair trade practices, Sommers Schwartz would like to have individual policyholders from every state to come forward and take part in the lawsuit. In particular, we’re looking for Blue Cross Blue Shield subscribers in Alaska, Arizona, Delaware, Iowa, Idaho, Kentucky, Nebraska, New Jersey, Virginia, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia, and Wyoming. There is no cost to participate.

If you live in one of these states and are willing to participate in the lawsuit with us, please contact us today. Small business owners that provide Blue Cross small group coverage for their employees may also qualify.