The Camp Lejeune Justice Act of 2022. Are you eligible for compensation?
BY: Sommers Schwartz | IN: Personal Injury
Starting in July 2020, Michigan drivers need to make a few crucial decisions with their car insurance. Historically, Michigan law required that motorists had to purchase a policy that provided unlimited, lifetime Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage. This insurance offered robust coverage in the event of an accident. In an attempt to lower premiums in 2019, the Michigan legislature passed a law allowing motorists to choose the amount of coverage they wished to purchase.
Depending on what coverage is purchased, the new law may provide small savings on premiums but it will result in drastic limitations in benefits if someone is catastrophically injured in an automobile accident. To fully understand those changes, a brief explanation of PIP insurance is necessary.
Under a no-fault or PIP system, anyone injured in a Michigan car accident can file a PIP claim with their own insurance company. This is considered a “no-fault” system because an injured motorist could file a PIP claim without regard to who caused the car accident. For example, if two cars were involved in an accident, and both drivers were injured, each driver would file a claim with their insurance company seeking payment for their medical expenses and lost wages.
The new Michigan No-Fault Law does away with the requirement that all motorists obtain unlimited, lifetime PIP protection. Instead, lawmakers have created five different PIP coverage options:
Although Michigan is largely a no-fault state, an injured motorist can pursue a third-party claim against another driver’s insurance policy when:
In these situations, the no-fault aspect of Michigan’s car insurance law does not apply, and an injured motorist can pursue a claim against the at-fault driver’s insurance company.
Before the new law, Michigan drivers were only required to obtain coverage of $20,000 per person/$40,000 per accident. However, as of July 1, 2020, insurance companies must offer default coverage of $250,000 per person/$500,000 per accident. Vehicle owners may purchase more or less coverage, as long as they obtain coverage of at least $50,000 per person/$100,000 per accident.
When choosing insurance coverage, Michigan vehicle owners should consider more than just the potential cost savings of a lower-limit policy. For example, a motorist who obtains just $50,000 in personal injury protection can only recover up to $50,000. Given the increasing cost of medical care, a PIP policy with just $50,000 leaves many accident victims with substantial uncovered medical expenses. So, while a low-limit policy may save some money in the short term, purchasing such a policy negates the purpose of having insurance.
The decision to purchase uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) protection is another crucial consideration for Michigan drivers. UM/UIM coverage kicks in to cover an accident victim’s expenses, including pain and suffering damages, if the at-fault party is uninsured or lacks sufficient insurance to cover the injured motorist’s damages. As noted above, even under the new law, vehicle owners need only purchase at least $50,000 in bodily injury liability. Thus, if an accident occurs resulting in serious injury or death, an accident victim or their family may only look to the at-fault party’s insurance company for $50,000. Of course, in serious accidents, this will prove far less than necessary to compensate an injured driver or passenger for their injuries fairly.
The lawyers at Sommers Schwartz make the following recommendations regarding your purchase of automobile insurance under the new law:
If you or a loved one suffered a severe injury in a Michigan car accident, contact the dedicated team of attorneys at Sommer Schwartz, P.C.
For more than four decades, our dedicated team of injury lawyers has fought for individuals and families involved in serious car accidents in Detroit and across the state, helping our clients obtain the compensation they need and deserve. To learn more about how we can help you pursue a claim for compensation, call us today at (800) 783-0989 to schedule a free consultation.
View all posts bySommers Schwartz